Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA Ballon d’Or Award For 2014

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for 2014, earning the title of world’s best football player for a third time. He beat Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and four-time winner Lionel Messi in a vote of national team captains and coaches from FIFA’s 209 member countries, plus selected journalists.

Ronaldo retained football’s highest individual honor after
scoring 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal last year.
His record tally of 17 in a Champions League season helped his
club win an unprecedented 10th European Cup title.

Ronaldo was more composed for this widely expected victory
than during his tearful acceptance speech one year ago when
ending Messi’s four-year reign.
In the women’s award, Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler beat Marta of Brazil and United States forward Abby Wambach.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.